Perseverance (for Bianca)

P1040668

An improv poem on a theme dear to my heart…

It has been a very long couple of weeks, with broken appliances and cars, illnesses within and outside the family, and overexposure to violence, fear, and retaliation. Sometimes, as a person with two chronic illnesses, I want to just quit everything. But I don’t. I keep going. This life is mine, and I believe in squeezing out every last drop of joy from it while I can.

Perseverance (for Bianca)

Perseverance starts small.

It builds in your mind; whenever

you look, it’s there to find.

You have to keep doing all things little and simple.

You have to keep claiming it. MINE.

That’s really the secret.

That’s all.

Leave a Reply

